Vintage Men’s Socks

6 Aug

vintageI love vintage patterns! When my son asked me to knit him a pair of socks, I knew I would want to knit a pair from one of my vintage knitting booklets. The booklets titled, Fleisher’s #86, Hand Knit Socks for Men, Women & Children , is a wonderful booklet filled with different styles of socks for men, women and children. There were several pairs for men, but I chose the one that was just stockinette stitch (Pattern # 3436). It’s a cuff down sock which calls for knitting in extra thread into the heel and toe sections for extra durability. I did not do that, because I didn’t have the extra thread, but I might do it next time. I used Paton’s Stretch Sock yarn in the “Mineral” colorway. The yarn was wonderful to knit with and I think I will use this yarn for my Boxy sweater by Joji Locatelli. The pattern was well written for a vintage pattern and the socks knitted up quickly. He loves them, so I might make another pair for Christmas.

vintage4

vintage2

vintage3

One Response to “Vintage Men’s Socks”

  1. Geraldine August 22, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    I’ve used that yarn, like it. What cool socks. I’m making a couple of pairs for my husband soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

