Organizing Circular Needles

5 Aug

IMG_3128I used to keep my circular knitting needles in a shoebox and it was so hard to rummage through the box to find the particular needle that I needed. I knew I wanted to store them in a way that they would separate the needles by size. I also knew that I had a lot of needles. So I decided to buy two 3″ 3-ring binders and about ten clear pencil zipper bags with three-ring holes. At first, I tried labeling the zipper bags with stick-on file tabs, but the paper inserts kept slipping out and the sticky labels didn’t stick very well and kept falling off. I ended up peeling the labels off and just left the binders unlabeled. Then I finally decided to do something about the labeling and I cut pieces of scrapbook paper to fit inside the zipper bags. I cut two pieces per bag. Using the computer, I printed out labels on white paper, cut them out and used a glue stick to affix them to the scrapbook paper. Then I just slid the scrapbook papers into the zipper bags, with the right sides facing out. I placed the zipper bags in order, according to needle size, into the 3-ring binders. I printed out a needle conversion chart and glued it to pretty scrap paper and slid it into the front of each binder. The sides of the binder are labeled as well. I’m so excited to finally have my circular needles organized!

I’d love to hear your comments or know how you orgainze your needles!

IMG_3130

IMG_3131

IMG_3133

2 Responses to “Organizing Circular Needles”

  1. Kialtho August 5, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

    That looks immensely organized! I imagine it’s much, much easier to find everything that you need now.

    • Kim D. August 6, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

      Thank you. Yes, it is so much easier this way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

