4th of July Dresses Times Two

16 Jul

image_medium2

When I came across the pattern called The Two Summer Sundress by Natalie Larson, I knew I needed to make this dress. For a second or two, I thought to myself who can I make this dress for? Then the thought of my cousin Jason’s twins popped into my head. Perfect!!! His twins are 2 years old and so cute. I knew 4th of July was just a few weeks away so I went to JoAnn’s and picked out some patriotic cotton fabric. I also purchased 2 skeins of Sugar ‘n Cream cotton yarn in the colorway “American Stripes”. The top portions knitted up quickly in just two evenings. I washed them in cold water on the gentle cycle together, but with nothing else, thankfully, as the colors all ran and the white turned pink. I was so upset! Below is a picture of one of the tops BEFORE washing.

image_medium3

I waited about 3 days before I picked up my needles again to knit two more tops. I ended up using some cotton yarn I had in my stash and made one top blue and one top red. My cousin and his wife like to dress the girls differently, so I didn’t make them to match. I used polka-dot ribbon to sturdy the edges on the inside of the top.

IMG_3002

I also sewed buttons in two different locations in the back of the dress, so the straps could be adjusted.

IMG_3001

I’m really happy with the way the dresses turned out and they looked so cute on the girls.  See pictures below.

IMG_3011

IMG_3010

IMG_3008

IMG_3012

IMG_3013

Leave a Reply

