Bryspun Plastic Needles

24 May

bryspunAbout two years ago, when we went to Auburn, AL for our daughters graduation from Auburn (War Eagle!!!), I decided to start a new knitting project. I started the Beekeeper’s Quilt because a friend of mine gifted me the pattern the morning we left town. I just couldn’t wait to get back home before starting it, so I stopped into a little yarn store in Opelika, AL called Yarnhouse Studios. While there, I purchased a skein of Berroco Sox and a set of double-pointed US4 knitting needles. The yarn store was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful, but the selection was much smaller than I was used to. Anyways, the needles I purchased were made by Bryspun, and at the time, I had never seen this brand before. It was the only double-pointed needles that they had in a size US4, so I thought I’d give them a try. After knitting with these needles, I will tell you that I love them. They are slightly flexible, so they are easy on the hands. They are very smooth to knit with and I love the tips. Also, my yarn slides on them well, without grabbing too much, yet they aren’t slippery. To top it all off, they are made in the USA and I love buying things made in the USA! That being said, when my mother mentioned the other day that she needed new needles and that she prefered not to use metal. I quickly suggested that she try Bryspun and that I had recently seen this brand here in Houston at a local yarn store.

My mother met me for lunch on Wednesday and we decided to stop in to the local yarn store to search for her needles. I won’t mention the yarn store we shopped at because I normally enjoy going in there, but this trip was not so enjoyable at all. As we walked in the door, a girl hopped up from the table and greeted us and asked if she could help us find something. I told her that my mother was looking for some new knitting needle and that she prefered plastic, and before I could finish asking if they still carried Bryspun, she blurted out, “Plastic??? (with a look of discuss on her face as she wrinkled her nose), Seriously??? Most knitters don’t use plastic!”. I was shocked by her attitude but I politely finished my sentence and said, “You used to carry Bryspun, do you still?” She showed us to the Bryspun needles and then left us to browse the store. I was so shocked at her rude, sarcastic attitude towards plastic needles. Two days later, and I’m still thinking about it and I can still hear her saying “Plastic??? Seriously?” and I can still see her wrinkled nose, as though she had just smelled rotten garbage. So now I ponder… are plastic needles considered inferior is some way in the knitting world? Are plastic needles the “acrylic” of yarns? Does it make me less of a knitter because I sometimes knit with plastic needles? Do my projects turn out differently because they were knit with plastic needles? I’m now so confused.

Let me just say, that I enjoy knitting with all kinds of needles. I’ve never been a fan of wooden, but I do have some and I do use them from time to time. I actually prefer the metal needles that are coated. My favorite needles are Aero-Bernat, but they are very hard to find here in the US unless you can find them in a thrift store or eBay. I did see them for sale on a website once, it was a Canadian website, but they did ship to the US. I’ve tried all brands too. I dp like my Addi Turbos, because they are nice and smooth to knit with and I love the tips, but the metal they use for their needles make my fingers stink. I know that you are thinking I’m weird, but it’s true! I can’t knit with them without having to go wash my hands right after. I also like knitting with KnitPicks needles and that’s normally what I’ve ordered lately, when I come across a needle size I don’t have.

So, I ask you, my readers…. Do you ever knit with plastic needles? Do you think plastic needles are inferior to wooden or metal needles? Have you tried the Bryspun brand and if so, how did you like them? I’d love to hear from you on the subject! Thanks in advance!

6 Responses to “Bryspun Plastic Needles”

  1. Shelly May 24, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

    NO it doesn’t make you less of a knitter, sounds like your sales girl was a bit snobby about her needles. I have one set and that is it. I did like using them, you just keep doing what you like girl! You turn out some beautiful projects, it doesn’t matter what needles you used, you do good work!!

    • Kim D. May 24, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

      Thanks Shelly. I definitely plan to continue to use the needles I like. I think it’s important to knit with what you are comfortable with.

  2. Ledra Slavik May 26, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

    I think that the shop owner might be interested in her shop girl’s attitude. Especially in light of the fact that she sells the very thing that “most knitters don’t use!” Seriously!!!??

    • Kim D. May 28, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

      You make a very good point! Thanks!

  3. pippamoore1961 May 28, 2013 at 7:43 am #

    haha silly girl needles are needles no matter what they are made of it’s the garment or toy etc that you make that counts ie. the finished product . what does she think people knitted on before these other newer type of needles came in?? she obviously is new to knitting!! however people like that really get to you sometimes! don’t be deterred by herxx good post showing the snobbery of knitting needlesxx

    • Kim D. May 28, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

      Thanks for the comment. I love the older plastic or bone needles, but they are often hard to find unless you just luck out in a thrift/resale store.

Leave a Reply

