Vintage Baby Blanket

14 May

blanket4A friend of mine from work and his wife, were expecting their first child. When I heard the news, I knew I had to knit him/her something and it had to be from one of my vintage patterns. After all, I haven’t had the opportunity to knit for a baby in a long time. I flipped through all my vintage baby knitting booklets and found an adorable knitted blanket with a satin edging. Since they didn’t want to know the sex of the baby until it was born, I thought a knitted blanket would be a perfect gift. Plus, the baby would get to use the blanket longer, since it was something that he/she wouldn’t out grow quickly.

My friend has seen me knitting before and commented that most yarn gives him the creeps, since his fingers are always rough and dry. So while shopping for yarn, I found some super soft yarn. Surprisingly, it was made by Red Heart and it’s called “Soft Baby Steps”. I chose white, since the sex was not known, and for the fact that the white satin would match nicely to the white yarn. So I immediately casted on and went to knitting. The knitting part was finished in about two weeks, and that was with me only knitting for a few hours in the evening.

I decided to lightly block the blanket because the salvage edges were curling badly and I was having a hard time pinning the satin edging to the blanket. I soaked the blanket in cool water, patted dry with a towel and stretched, just slightly to make the blanket flat. I was careful not to stretch too much, because I wanted the satin binding to look nice once the recipient washed the blanket. After the blanket was dry, about 2 days later, I pinned the statin binding to the blanket, placing the edge of my knitting into the crease of the binding. I made sure all the corners were folded in the same directions. Then I hand stitched the binding to the blanket. I thought it would look nicer to stitch one side of the blanket, then flip it over and stitch the other edge of the binding to the blanket, instead of trying to catch both sides all at once. I’m very happy with the results! I also stitched the creases on the corner now, so little fingers and toe wouldn’t get caught. It was finished just in time, one day before little Charlie made his appearance. Charlie was born on May 1st at 8 AM and weighted 9 lbs 3 oz.. Welcome to the world little Charlie!!! I hope you will enjoy your new blanket made especially for you!

blanket3

blanket2

blanket5

blanket1_medium2

5 Responses to “Vintage Baby Blanket”

  1. leovlad May 14, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

    so adorable! i used to have one just like it – i’ll have to add this to my knitting queue!

    • Kim D. May 14, 2013 at 11:47 pm #

      Thank you. Yes, you’ll have to knit you another one. It didn’t take long at all. 🙂

  2. Becky November 18, 2017 at 8:48 pm #

    Hi Kim, Where did you purchase the extra wide satin binding? I have found 1″ double fold and 2″ single fold, but not 2″ double fold satin binding. Thank you for sharing your source of binding.

    • Kim D. November 19, 2017 at 1:25 am #

      Hi Becky, I found it at JoAnn Fabrics,but the colors were limited.

      • Becky November 19, 2017 at 2:20 am #

        Hi Kim, Thank you and I did go to JoAnn and found the 2″ single fold and don’t need the double fold. Have a Happy Thanksgiving.
        Becky

Leave a Reply

