Knitting & Crocheting with Grandma

10 Aug

Yesterday was so much fun!  My grandma is staying over at my mom and dad’s house this weekend, because my aunt and her husband are out-of-town.  Since my grandmother is 92 years old and can’t walk very well, my parents asked if I would come sit with her while they were at work.  Since I was off work, and since I don’t get to see my grandma very often, I quickly agreed.  My grandmother turned 92 years old in April of this year.  She is in great health for her age, but has a hard time getting around and walks with a walker.  She has crocheted ever since I can remember.  Unfortunately, I’ve never learned to crochet, but I’m hoping to have my grandma teach me this weekend.  I do know how to make a chain, but that’s as far as I go.  So, I arrived at my mom’s house around 8:15 AM.  I had stopped at Duncan Donuts and picked us up a donut and coffee.  After breakfast we went straight to our crafting.  I knitted on a shawl, while grandma crocheted on a baby blanket.  My grandma crochet’s baby blankets and donates them to a hospital in Austin, TX, where my cousin’s mother-in-law volunteers.  My grandma loves crocheting the blankets and has been making then for a little over a year.  She told me that this was the first pink baby blanket she has made and that she loves the color pink, but she was having a hard time finishing the blanket because she gets tired of looking at the color.  She told me she was determined to finish it this weekend while at my mom’s house.  We spent the whole day knitting and crocheting, talking, watching TV and I even took her for a short walk around the block.  What an awesome day!  I feel very blessed to have spent the day with my grandma.

2 Responses to “Knitting & Crocheting with Grandma”

  1. Lori August 12, 2012 at 1:09 am #

    What a beautiful post! Makes me miss my both of my grandma’s. I’m sure your grandma was tickled pink to have you spend the day with her.

    • Kim D. August 14, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

      Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

