Knitting Needle Containers for the Wall

5 Aug

Last year, while still in the process of planning my knitting/sewing room, I found some white metal hanging plant containers at Ikea.  Here is the link http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/90186094/  They were about $6 each.  I had planned to hang them on my wall, next to my yarn cabinet, to hold all my straight knitting needles.  Soon after setting up my room, I hung the containers and placed my needles inside.  I always felt they looked a little plain, so today, I tied a red ribbon around each container and labeled them as to size of knitting needles.  The ribbon is the same ribbon that I used on my multi-drawer cabinet and my decorative suitcase storage boxes.  I think the ribbon and labels make them look a lot better.  I can also easily find the size needle I’m looking for without having to look through multiple containers, since they are arrange according to size.  I also added some light-weight pompoms to the bottom and sides of the containers, to help cushion the tips of the needles and keep them standing up straight.  I’m happy with the results.  I might buy some tiny rubberbands to keep the pairs together, as I think that would be helpful.  Now to find a container for my double-pointed needles…

5 Responses to “Knitting Needle Containers for the Wall”

  1. reretro August 6, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    absolutely LOVE your arrangement…..so beautiful AND functiional. and so many knitting needles = yummy!

  2. waywardleaf August 6, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    What a great idea! Particularly useful for those with minimal storage space. 🙂

  3. idiosyncratic eye August 8, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    I’ve not found any containers long enough for my straight needles and had to resort to upcycling crisp (chips) tubes! These are beautiful, I’ll have to keep my eyes out. And the best arrangement for the circulars was a needle roll but then I don’t use them very much, however at one point I did have them hanging around the upright of a bookcase. Maybe you need some big stylish hooks? 🙂

  4. Kim D. August 14, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    Thank you for all the comments! 🙂

  5. pillowsalamode August 18, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    LOVE!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

