The Galveston Bag

20 Jul

For over a year now, I’ve had an idea for a beach/market bag in my head.  A few months ago, I finally sketched it out, picked up my needles, and starting knitting to see if I could bring the design to life.  Well, surprisingly, the bag knitted up rather quickly with no real problem and it turned out exactly how I had envisioned it.

The bottom is knitted in garter stitch and the body is knitted in a mesh pattern with beads.  The bag is topped off with a few rows of garter stitch and then a double thick garter stitch strap.  The only minor thing that changed from what I envisioned is the strap.  Once I saw how stretchy the cotton made the strap, I made it double-thick and shortened the length a bit.  I’m extremely happy with the results.

I sent my design to Knit Picks, to be considered for their Independent Designer Program and they wrote me back saying they’d like to publish my pattern.  I received the support yarn in the mail two days ago and I’m already knitting another bag in Knit Picks’ Dishie.  It will be in the color “Swan” and will have multi-colored Perler bead.

Knitting with Perler beads is so much fun!  Perler beads are sold at JoAnn Fabrics, Michael’s, and Hobby Lobby.  I’m sure most stores that sell crafts probably sell them.  They are not normally found in the bead section, but in the kid’s craft section.  They can also be ordered at http://koolstuff4kids.3dcartstores.com/Perler-Beads_c_24.html.  I prefer knitting with the Perler beads rather than pony beads, because the pony beads are larger and heavier and tend to give a little bit of added weight to the bag.  I find the Perler beads easier to knit with because of their size.

~Note About Pictures~  The first picture (above) is of my Mom, modeling the bag in Cypress, Texas at an old gas station.  This picture was taken before I reconstructed the strap to shorten it and make it double-thick.  Below are pictures of the finished bag with the reconstructed strap.  Also, another finished bag knitted from Sugar ‘n Cream with Perler beads.  Mom was an awesome model.  Only my mom and my dog would put up with my obsessive picture-taking.  Thanks Mom!!!

Leave a Reply

