Hexagon Quilt

9 Jul

I recently discovered the method of English paper quilting on the Internet and was very intrigued.  So much so, that I bought some fabric at the quilt store a few days later to give the method a try.  Well, sadly that was as far as I got until last week.  Yes, for over three months, this beautiful fabric has been hibernating in a sack in my craft closet.  That is, until last Tuesday.  I decided to make my hexagons with 1 1/4″ sides.  This is smaller than some, but I wanted them small.  So I cut out lots of hexagons out of poster board and then started cutting my fabric.  Today, six days later, I have a total of 243 basted to the poster board.  Yay!  I’m not sure exactly how many I will need.  I’m thinking I might make a crib size?  I want to use it mostly for snuggling up on the couch on a cold day to watch a movie, read a book, or knit.  While all this stitching was going on, my cat, Lucy (AKA Miss Lucy Goosey) decided to see what I was up to.  She loves to be right in the middle of the action.  She started off on the ottoman, then moved to my legs and before I knew it, she was on my hexagons.  She may be old (going on 15 yrs) but she’s still very curious.

 

Leave a Reply

