A Hutch for my Stash

27 Feb

I’ve been busy, busy, busy trying to create my first, very own craft room.  Yay!  I’m so excited!  I’ve been wanting a craft room for many years, but with two kids and only a three bedroom house, I had to wait until at least one child was grown and out on their own.  Well, that time has finally come.  Our oldest, Victoria, graduated from Auburn in August.  War Eagle!  She’s now living in GA and has a wonderful job.  So, I’m in the process of boxing up the reminents of her room and making a home for all my crafts. 

All summer, I was searching the Ikea store and website for some furniture for my room.  I had wanted to buy this:  HEMNES storage combo

But, I felt the price (over $900) was a little much for yarn storage for my craft room, so I kept thinking and searching.  Then, I decided perhaps I would search for old furniture in either a resale shop of craigslist and just refinish it or paint it.  So I searched for a few months and finally came across an extremely heavy, solid wood china cabinet on craigslist. 

The cabinet was made in the 1970’s.  The seller was asking $100 for it, and I gladly took it at that price.  It was missing a knob, but all of the wood and glass was in good condition.  My cousin came over and helped my hubby unload it from the truck and move it into the garage.  The top portion comes off, but it was still really heavy.  We removed the glass shelves, the glass from the doors, and all the hardware.  Then my hubby went to work refinishing it for me.  First he sanded it to get the smooth finish off.  Then he wiped it down to remove any excess dust.  A coat of primer was next.  Then he gave it two coats of white paint.  We decided to spray paint the iron work black instead of leaving it a bronze color.  Then we purchased new black knobs.  Within a week or so, I had a brand new cabinet for my stash.  I love my new cabinet and it’s so much sturdier than the Ikea furniture.  I’m sure it will last me a long time.

As you can see from the picture above, I was able to move it into the room and fill it up before Christmas.  Our daughter was coming into town for Christmas, so we left the bed in the room until last week.   Below are some more pictures of the cabinet.  Once the room is complete, I will make a new post and take you on a tour.  Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

